Darkness Does Not Prevail

I recently began “The Essenstial Jesus” Bible reading plan on YouVersion. It is a 100-day plan that takes you through key verses about the life and ministry of Christ. I also use YouVersion to journal my thoughts about my devotional time. I thought I would share what I wrote today for John 1:1-18:

Some days just seem dark…troublesome…without hope. We feel defeated in every area of life…particularly in our relationship with God. It is in those days that we have to cling to what we know in our heart and not what we can see with our eyes. We have to embrace the past experiences of God’s blessings and not the lies that Satan is whispering in our ears. We have to take hold of the promises in God’s Word and throw off the hopelessness that is driven by emotions. In essence, we have to live by what we know and not by what we feel. And we KNOW from John 1:5 that darkness NEVER wins…that the Light of Christ always burns brighter…and prevails in ALL things. Everyday we have a choice about how we want to live life. Today…choose Light.

Darkness Does Not Prevail