Time To Make Entries In This Digital Diary

It’s been almost a decade since I started blogging.  My first post was in November 2004 and since then I have watched this blog take on different aspects and readership.  There was a time when it was just a diary for me to read back over to see what God had been doing in my life. There was time when thousands would read what I wrote each day about church planting, leadership and the struggles of a pastor.  At one point it became the “tail that wagged the dog” – all consuming and the way in which I validated my worth.  Soon after it was something I voluntarily walked away from – quit writing and updating – but never really taking the site down.  In the past few years it’s where I have sporadically started letting folks know about my health, the church I pastor and occasional random thoughts on daily life.  There have been many false starts over the last 24-months where I would think I was going back to updating the blog regularly…only to realize that I just didn’t have much to say.  In essence, I had such a “love/hate” relationship with it that I just lost my passion to blog.

As 2014 sets in I have once again found my desire to blog (or “blog, blog, blog” as my friend Chad Chastain would say).  I see this medium as I originally did back in 2004 – a place to share my thoughts – in no particular order – as a digital diary of what God is teaching me.  I do not think there will be many “10 Things That Great Leaders Do” posts as I do not feel that I am a great leader.  I do not think it will contain insights into church planting as my planting days were almost a decade ago.  I do not think it will contain many intentional nuggets of wisdom about leading a church.  The longer I am in ministry the more I’ve come to realize how little I actually know about being good at ministry.

What I do think this blog will be is just unfiltered thoughts about what God is showing me, teaching me and stretching me with.  Obviously there will be aspects that will appeal to other pastors or church leaders.  However, I have learned that leading a church is just one small part of my life – and not one that I necessarily want to be known for once I have left this Earth.  There is so much more to this struggle and joy of being a follower of Christ.  It is from that place – that role – that I shall write.  Lurk, subscribe or just drop in from time to time.  It will be a pleasure sharing with you.

Time To Make Entries In This Digital Diary