My Social Media Rule

In 2014 I have established a new social media rule for myself.  This is for any post on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook or this blog.  I never post live.  I always write it…save it as a draft…and then wait a day or two before posting it.  Sometimes I discover what was funny a day ago isn’t so funny now.  What I thought was wise a week ago isn’t so wise now.  What was under my skin when I initially wrote the post would do more harm than good if posted.  Social media is a dangerous form of communication that should be handled with great responsibility.  Sometimes I’m not that responsible…it helps to let a post set for a day or two while I discern whether it really needs to be shared with the world…or deleted forever. For the record, I wrote this post last Thursday…it’s been sitting in my draft file every since.  🙂

My Social Media Rule