Health Update – 13 Things

It’s been a while since I did one of these. I just completed a month of tests and recently received the results so I thought I’d share:

  1. The aneurysm is growing…a little quicker than expected. Anything worth doing is worth doing well.
  2. The doctors determined it’s probably been in my system for about 3 years.
  3. My heart is fine…no blockage or build up…which is good. It’s got a really cool rhythm that reminds me of Peter Criss’ drum solo on “KISS Alive II”.
  4. The aorta wall is still thin…an operation would be a crap shoot.
  5. If the growth pattern continues Denise and I have a decision to make in about 2 years.
  6. We can choose to attempt the operation…which I’m not expected to survive…or I can ride out the aneurysm until it blows.  Happy, happy, happy!!!
  7. My Epstein Barre disease is semi-dormant…not as much fatigue as I experienced a year ago. I can no longer use the “doctor said I need to nap instead of dusting the house” excuse with Denise.
  8. The doctor cleared me to start walking. Wants me to work up to 3 miles over a 6 month period. Piece of cake!
  9. My days of lifting anything over 20 pounds are behind me. Gym workouts are history. On the bright side…so is mowing the lawn.
  10. I go back for an echo cardiogram in 6 months…that will determine how much other testing is needed.
  11. Thanks to all of the CAT scans, MRIs and nuclear dye I now glow in the dark…a walking night light.
  12. Not looking at this as “the glass is half empty” or “the glass is half full”. Just glad I have a glass with something in it.
  13. Thanks for the prayers.  If anyone would like to donate their ascending aorta…I’d be grateful.
Health Update – 13 Things

One thought on “Health Update – 13 Things

Comments are closed.