I Go To Movies By Myself

Some people believe that productivity and creativity are related to times of the day – you can get more done in the morning. Some people believe that productivity and creativity are related to location – changing the scenery will jump start the brain. Others believe that productivity and creativity are related to the processes that are used – the right app or tool produces results. What I have come to realize in my own life is that productivity and creativity are directly related to me being…rested!

When I’m rested – physically, mentally and spiritually – I can get more done and be more creative. With ADD my biggest challenge is to shut my brain down for a while. Nothing taxes me more than having to sit in meeting after meeting, counseling people or constantly engaging in conversation. Therefore, I am constantly looking for ways to let my brain shut down, reboot and relax. One of the best ways I have found is going to movies at a local theater by myself.

I usually do it once a month during work hours. I’m not getting much work done being mentally worn out…so why not take the time off? What about deadlines and responsibilities? If I’m not rested you can forget about both of them. I grab a matinee of some movie my wife doesn’t want to see (yesterday was “Draft Day”), get some popcorn and soda, and kick back letting my brain rest while enjoying a movie in an empty theater. My brain hits neutral, I relax, my creative juices gets a visual boost and I don’t have to talk to anyone. Rest…blissful rest!!! One 2-hour movie a month gets me back in the game. I find myself more productive and creative…because I’m mentally rested. Give it a shot…you’ll be glad you did.

I Go To Movies By Myself

One thought on “I Go To Movies By Myself

Comments are closed.