The Liberating Feeling Of Losing Everything

“Getting fired from Apple was the best thing that could have ever happened to me. The heaviness of being successful was replaced by the lightness of being a beginner again. It freed me to enter one of the most creative periods of my life.” – Steve Jobs

 

Some people lose everything and their world forever shuts down.  Some people lose everything, feel lost for a while, see the value of beginning again and relish starting over.  My wife and I fall into the second category. I think it is because Denise (my wife) loves to organize messes and I love getting creative with blank white boards.  There is something magical about a blank white board – all of the possibilities devoid of preconceptions. There is something motivating about a full blown mess – arranging a new system and creating an original process.  Ultimately we find loss to be liberating at times.

When loss happens it can be a confusing, fearful and depressing time.  A time of questioning everything – including God. However, it is through those questions that answers come.  Answers bring clarity and clarity brings action. Every time we have experienced loss we have seen God use it to push us out of our comfort zone – and into His will. When we eventually pushed past the motions that come with loss – and ventured further down the journey – we have ALWAYS seen God’s hand of provision, protection and guidance. We have also arrived at His will for our lives!

Denise and I are also very blessed to have many wonderful friends and leaders around us that share the vision of building something out of nothing for the Kingdom of God. But again, major loss is what brought those folks into our life. Blank white boards and phenomenal messes drove them to us – and God’s plan.

Denise and I have come to realize that God sometimes liberates things from our life to give us the freedom to truly follow Him. I don’t think that we made those things idols, but I do know that we got quite comfortable having them in our life.  Comfort is not a place that God desires for us to be. In the end, there was freedom finding out that we did not need them – we just needed God.

 

The Liberating Feeling Of Losing Everything