Pastoring Without An Office

CatapultFor the past month I have been “on the road” more than I’ve been “in the office”.  Between mission trips, vacation, speaking events and meetings throughout Florida I have been away from the campus of Impact! Church quite a bit. Good thing I don’t have an office at the church and have learned to work remotely!

We’ve always seen Impact! Church’s building more of a community center than a church building.  We have multiple local groups and organizations that meet in the Impact! building each week (AA groups, local businesses needing conference space, training groups, etc.), as well as multiple Bible studies throughout the week.  There is a rarely a time day or night at Impact! Church that we don’t have some group of people meeting at the building.  In January we made a decision to kill our offices to allow for more meeting space.  We did keep one large room that is more of an open office arrangement for our leadership to meet, plan and work.  Thus in the process my office got killed off also.  When that happened I began living out of my backpack – and my office became where ever I was located at the time.

My “office desk” these days are coffeehouses, restaurants, parks, bars, the street – basically where ever a meeting or ministry opportunity takes me.  A couple of mornings a week I am located a Catapult Lakeland – a coworking environment located in the basement of a Lakeland bank (see picture above).  Most afternoons you can find me hanging out in the cafe area of Impact! Church.  Where ever I’m located I grab my trusty Macbook from the backpack and start working away.  If things get a little noisy or distracting at the location I pop in my JBL earbuds and jam something to block the noise (right now it’s old school Van Halen while writing this).

It’s been about 4 months since we totally dropped individual offices at Impact! Church and I love it.  I think the remote arraignment makes me a better pastor – more accessible for ministry to take place.  It also helped me simplify what I needed to complete the tasks of my day and fit it all into one backpack. It has exposed me to new people and relationships I would have never had while being “locked away” in an office. I pastor without an office and it is a lifestyle I love!!!

Pastoring Without An Office