This morning an older gentleman came into our office needing directions.  I noticed that he walked with a limp and then I saw his ball camp…POW/MIA.  After giving him the information he requested I asked about the hat.  He said he prays every day for other POWs and the families of MIAs.  I asked what he meant by “other POW’s” (ADD folks NEVER miss a thing…we just ignore a lot of it).  Seems he was if the Pacific theater back in WWII and had been taken prisoner.  He was one of only six Americans that survived the initial battle and were over run because they were simply out manned.  His limp was from the months of torture as a POW.

I write this blog piece today…preach every Sunday morning…and enjoy life as an American…under the cover of the freedom that this man fought and suffered for.  Freedom is not free…it cost someone somewhere…and today…at this very hour…someone is paying the price for that freedom.  I just wanted to say “thank you” to the men and women that have served…and are serving…in our United States Armed Forces.  Without you…there would be no Compass Point…there would be no ChrisElrod.com…there would be no America…there would be no freedom!!!

7 responses to “Thank You To The Providers Of Freedom”

  1. Steve Wright Avatar

    Amen! All my uncles served. My father served and many of my cousins serve now. Your right Chris, freedom is not free. Thanks for this post.

    Like

  2. Mark R Avatar

    we enjoy life as Australians as well – because of the cost of many American lives – I thankyou as well.

    Like

  3. Chris Kratzer Avatar

    Chris, this has nothing to do with your post above, just wanted to say hello from NC. I used to live in Florida, planted a Church there named Quest419 some years back, and did my undergrad at FSC in Lakeland. Blessings to you and your ministry, nice to see this kind of ministry in Lakeland.

    Chris
    http://chris-kratzer.blogspot.com
    http://www.eternity-church.com

    Like

  4. Mike Avatar

    Amen. As a Brit we recognise the vast number of Americans who died in both world wars. Sin is a awful thing, it destroys. War is caused by sin and there are those who’s courage prevent the rest of us from enduring conflict.

    Like

  5. mike macon Avatar

    You’re welcome. 😀

    Like

  6. steve Avatar
    steve

    We had a WWII vet in our church who recently passed away. He was captured during the Battle of Bulge. He would give his testimony in church and talk about how the only thing they had to eat was potato soup which was a basically water with one potato in it. It would always bring tears to my eyes to hear him speak and how he still loved the Lord!

    Like

  7. Jonathan Avatar

    Amen, bro.

    Like

I’m Chris

Welcome to Nook, my cozy corner of the internet dedicated to all things homemade and delightful. Here, I invite you to join me on a journey of creativity, craftsmanship, and all things handmade with a touch of love. Let’s get crafty!

Let’s connect